Senior Championship Rd 3

Report (c)

The final match in the round robin stage of the SFC went with form as last year’s runners-up Summerhill were too strong for Gaeil Colmcille at Pairc Tailteann on Sunday. 

Summerhill   1-14
Gaeil Colmcille  0-8

Aided by whatever assistance the blustery wind offered, Summerhill took charge from the off and led 1-4 to 0-0 midway through the opening half. Thereafter the outcome was never in doubt despite Gaeil Colmcille’s best efforts to compete, they fell to their third defeat of the campaign.

Conor Lyons’s 10th minute goal was central to this early scoring salvo. All of Summerhill’s scores came from play. Eoghan Frayne chipped in the four points and by the end eight Summerhill players were on the scoresheet.

Conor Gillespie’s men were physically too strong for the Kells-men who are not the force they were a few years back. Ajay Tormey was the first Gaeil Colmcille to trouble the scoreboard operator, from a 16th minute mark.

When his team mate and goalkeeper Barry Farrelly pointed from a 23rd minute free, Summerhill had 1-5 on the board.  Matters improved somewhat for Gaeil Colmcille in the run-in to half-time. Seamus Mattimoe posted their first score from play, with Tormey assisting.

Summerhill moved eight clear before Tormey notched his second pointed free of the half and leave the Kells-men seven points, 0-4 to 1-8, in arrears at the break.

Gaeil Colmcille doubled their tally in the second half. The elements were of little assistance to them. Philly Ward had a good crack at goal in the 35th minute but Summerhill ‘keeper Sean Muddiman saved smartly.

The teams shared two points in the opening 24 minutes of the second-half while Summerhill full-back Padraig Jennings was black-carded in the 36th minute. Eoin Carroll and Brendan Murphy’s side were unable to capitalise on temporary numerical advantage.

Between them the teams registered six points from the 55th minute to the end with two Summerhill subs, Adam McDonnell and Liam Shaw, getting on the scoresheet.

Scorers: Summerhill – Conor Lyons 1-1; David Larkin 0-1; Eoghan Frayne 0-4; Adam Flanagan 0-2; Adam McDonnell 0-2; Conor Frayne 0-1;Dermot McCabe 0-1; Liam Shaw 0-1; Jamie O’Shea 0-1.

Gaeil Colmcille – Ajay Tormey 0-3 (1f, 1 mark); Barry Farrelly 0-2 (fs); Seamus Mattimoe 0-2; Liam Barry 0-1.

Summerhill – Sean Muddiman; Iarla Hughes, Padraig Jennings, John Lavelle; John Keane, Ross Ryan, Jamie O’Shea; Adam Flanagan, Micheal Byrne; David Larkin, Eoghan Frayne, Kevin Ryan; Eamon McDonnell.

Subs– Liam Shaw for K Ryan (ht), Dermot McCabe for Lyons (ht), Davy Dalton for C Frayne (47), Adam McDonnell for Lavelle (50), Padraig Geraghty for Flanagan (53). 

Gaeil Colmcille – Barry Farrelly; Fionn Smith, Adam Donnelly, Adam Muldoon; James Reilly, Johnny Quigley (jc), Cormac Ferguson; Ryan Farnham, Evan Ferguson; Liam Ferguson, Seamus Mattimoe, Ajay Tormey; Liam Barry, Philly Ward, Daniel Farrelly.

Subs – Conall Courtney for Farnham (12), Rian Early for Farrelly (44), Fionn Ferguson for Muldoon (49), Dan Muldoon for L Ferguson (54), Seanie Curran for Ward (57),

Referee – Keith Sheerin (Drumconrath)