A-League Div 1 Rd 7

Summerhill and Ratoath met in a repeat of last year’s county final in the A-League in Summerhill on Friday evening. As with the final last year this was a tight game that went right down to the wire with the visitors eventually coming out with the win by just a single point.

Summerhill started the first half brightly and led by three points to one after 15 minutes with two points from Liam Shaw and a Conor Lyons free. The visitors dominators the latter stages of the half hitting four unanswered points to leave them leading at the break by six points to four.

Ratoath extended this lead in the early seconds of second half but Summerhill hit back with points from Kevin Ryan and a Barry Dardis free which was followed by another Ratoath point to leave the score midway through the half at eight points to six. Summerhill dominates the next 10 minutes play hitting four unanswered points to take the lead by two. Ratoath hit back with another pointed free to cut the lead to the minimum once more. Another Kevin Ryan effort saw Summerhill had lead by 11 points to 9 as full time approached. With the clock ticking into the red Ratoath broke forward and hit for the only goal of the  game to retake the lead by a single point which they held onto until the end. Final score Summerhill 0-11 Ratoath 1-9.

Team: Sean Muddiman, Ben Moran, John Lavelle, Mark Donoghue, Adam MacDonnell, Jack Davies, Jack Bannon, Diarmuid McCabe, Kevin Lyons, David Larkin, Conor Lyons (0-1, 1f), Kevin Ryan (0-4), Liam Shaw (0-2), Barry Dardis (0-4, 2f), David Dalton.

Subs: Darragh McVann for Jack Davies, Conor Ryan for Diarmuid McCabe, Eoghan Jennings for Conor Lyons, Eoghan Grehan for Mark Donoghue, Conor Summerville for David Dalton.