A-League Division 1 Rd2

Summerhill travelled to Dunshaughlin on Tuesday evening to play the first of their back matched in the A-League. This game was the first of 3 games coming up in the next 7 days in a very busy time of the year. For what seems like the first time this year weather conditions were ideal with no rain and only a slight breeze so a good game was on the cards.

Summerhill started well with a Barry Dardis point from the throw in and almost score a goal 2 minutes later when the home keeper saved from an Eamonn McDonnell effort. The home side steadied with 2 point of their own to take the lead by the 5th minute. With their midfield dominating, Summerhill then hit a purple patch and scored 8 unanswered points over the next 15 minute’s to lead by 7. As half time approached Dunshaughlin scored the first goal of the game to close the gap. Summerhill responded instantly with a goal of their own with the very next play. A Dunshuaghlin line ball was turned over by Conor Lyons who worked the ball forward to Eamonn McDonnell who fired to the net to restore Summerhill’s 7 point cushion. Further points were exchanged to leave the score at the break Summerhill 1-10 Dunshaughlin 1-4.

Summerhill started the 2nd half  in great form hitting 4 point in the first 5 minutes, with point coming from Kevin Ryan, Davy Larkin, Eamonn McDonnell, and Liam Shaw to extend the lead out to 10 points. The home side rallied to hit 4 unanswered points of their own to close the gap to 6 points but this was to be as close at they would get as Summerhill closed out the game scoring 4 of the last 5 points to run out winners on a score line of Summerhill 1-18 Dunshaughlin 1-9. Summerhill will be happy to begin this run of games with a win and also be boosted by the return to action of Adam McDonnell, Diarmuid McCabe and Padraig Jennings. Next up for Summerhill is a game versus Ratoath on Friday evening in Summerhill.

Team: Seam Muddiman,Ben Moran,John Lavelle (0-1), Jack Bannon, Jamie O’Shea (0-1), Jack Davies, Padhraig Geraghty, Adam Flanagan, Kevin Lyons, David Larkin (0-2), Conor Lyons (0-4, 3f), Liam Shaw (0-1), Eamonn McDonnell (1-2, 1f 1m), Barry Dardis (0-4, 1f), David Dalton (0-1).

Subs: Kevin Ryan (0-2) for Davy Dalton, Diarmuid McCabe for Kevin Lyons, Adam McDonnell for Jack Davies, Padraig Jennings for Jamie O’Shea, Mark Donoghue for Eamonn McDonnell.