Feis Cup Semi-Final

A very much under strength Summerhill team traveled to Ashbourne on Friday evening for the semi final of the Feis Cup. The team were missing a number of front line starters due to a wedding of one senior player and a stag weekend in Rome for another. This meant that Summerhill started with just 3 players who started in last years senior final. The game however offer a chance for some second team and indeed third team players to experience senior football, several for the first time.

Summerhill started brightly with a point from Liam Shaw soon followed by an excellent goal from Kevin Ryan in the 6ty minutes. Ryan picked up a pass from Gavin McVann before running 40 meters through the hearth of home sides defense before firing to the back of the net. The home side responded well to to this goal hitting 7 of the next 9 points to leave the half time score Summerhill 1-4 Donaghmore/Ashbourne 0-10. This gap could easily been narrower as Summerhill spurned an excellent goal chance when Kevin Lyons fired narrowly wide from close in.

The second half carried much as the first had with Ashbourne clipping over some fine points from play. Summerhill were just about staying in touch with some excellent free taking from Liam Shaw as well as a fine point from play from James Gray. As the half progressed the Summerhill management took the opportunity to give a number of the younger players some game time bringing on 7 subs in total. As the full time whistle approached Summerhill had cut the deficit to 5 points but a goal for the home side on the stroke of full time put some daylight between the sides. Full time score Summerhill 1-10 Donaghmore/Ashbourne 1-19. Next up for Summerhill is the start of the A-League which kicks off next Saturday afternoon with a home game against neighbours Na Fianna.

Team: Sean Muddiman, Jack Bannon, Iarla Hughes, Darren Chapman, Kevin Mulligan, Jack Davies, Gavin MacVann, Adam Flanagan, Conor Ryan, Liam Shaw (0-9, 9f), Kevin Lyons, Kevin Ryan (1-0), Conor Brien, Conor Summerville.

Subs: James Gray (0-1), Darragh McVann, Paddy Mulligan, David Myles, David Moore, Jamie Burke, Pauric Ennis.