Feis Cup Rd2 v Wolfe Tones.

The Summerhill senior team played their first home game of the season when they welcomed Wolfe Tones for round two of the Feis Cup on a cool but dry Saturday afternoon. Following their win in Skryne last Friday Summerhill knew a win would qualify them for the semi final as group winners.

It was the visitors who got off to the brightest start scoring 2 early points. Summerhill got off the mark in the 5th minute but a good point from distance from Barry Dardis followed soon after by another from Jamie O’Shea. Scores were hard to come by for the rest of the half with Summerhill adding 3 further points, 2 from Kevin Ryan and another from Dardis, leaving the half time score Summerhill 0-5 Wolfe Tones 0-2.

Wolfe Tones opened the scoring in the second-half to close the gap but this was quickly cancelled out by Conor Frayne point. The next score was the first goal of the game when a Wolfe Tones kickout was intercepted by Barry Dardis who lobbed the ball back over the keeper’s head. The ball hit the bar but rebounded kindly to Conor Lyons who fired to the back of the net. This was soon added to by a Kevin Ryan point  to stretch the lead out to 7 points. The visitors rallied and hit three points in a row in quick succession to cut the gap back to 4 points however another Barry Dardis point and a second Summerhill goal from Kevin Ryan who was well set up by Dardis, extended the lead out again midway through the half.
With time running out Summerhill added a 3rd goal from Conor Frayne, this time John Lavelle been the provider, to leave the final score Summerhill 3-9  Wolfe Tones 0-10. The win sees Summerhill qualify for the semi-final of the Feis Cup which will be played in two weeks’ time.

Team. Robbie McDonnell, Mark Donoghue, Iarla Hughes, Jack Bannon, Padhraig Geraghty, John Lavelle, Jamie O’Shea (0-1), Conor McNally, Kevin Lyons, David Larkin, Connor Lyons (1-0), Kevin Ryan (1-3), Conor Frayne (1-1), Barry Dardis (0-4,1f), Eamonn McDonnell.

Subs: Liam Shaw for Jack Bannon, Conor Ryan for Mark Donoghue, Conor Summerville for Conor Lyons, Cathal Ryan for Eamonn McDonnell.