A-League Div 1 Rd6

Summerhill got back to winning way in the A-League with a good win against Navan O’Mahony’s in Paddy O’Brien Park on Tuesday evening. The game was over shadowed by the sad death of an O’Mahonys under age player Zak Moran. The game was preceded by a minutes silence to mark Zak’s passing. In a nice gesture O’Mahonys donated the gate receipts from the game to The Irish Cancer Society in memory of Zak. The Summerhill players and management held a collection and team captain Padhraig Geraghty presented it to the O’Mahonys captain after the game. Our sincerest sympathy to the Moran family and the O’Mahony’s club on their sad loss. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam uasal.

Summerhill were keen to get back to winning ways after two defeats and started brightly. A goal from returning Meath U20 captain Eoghan Frayne saw Summerhill race into a six point lead after only ten minutes. A long high ball into the Summerhill square was well clamed by the O’Mahonys full forward who despite confusion as to whether a mark was called or not dispatched the ball into the back of the net. Summerhill stretched their lead again with a second goal, this time from Conor Frayne, after been set up by David Larkin. the home side fought back yet again and were awarded and scored a penalty as half time approached. Summerhill went in at the break leading by 2-7 to 2-4.

Summerhill started the second half in great fashion scoring four of the first five points to streach their lead, the points coming from Eamonn McDonnell, Conor Lyons, Jack Bannon and one each for the Frayne brothers. Eamonn Ryan netted a third goal for the visitors when he coolly lobbed the O’Mahony’s keeper to put the result beyond doubt. With ten minutes Eoghan Frayne was somewhat harshly sent of after he pick up a second yellow card but reduction to fourteen men made no difference to Summerhill. Summerhill eventually ran out winners on a score line of 3-16 to 2-17.
Next up for Summerhill is a home game against county champions Wolfe tones in two weeks.

Team: Robbie McDonnell, Ben Moran, Iarla Hughes, Jack Bannon (0-1), Padhraig Geraghty, Adam McDonnell (0-1), John Lavelle, Ross Ryan, Ciaran Gillespie, Davy Larkin (0-1), Conor Lyons (0-2, 2f), Jamie O’Shea (0-1), Eamonn McDonnell (0-3), Conor Frayne (1-3), Eoghan Frayne (1-2).

Subs Used: Eamonn Ryan (1-2), Mark Donoghue, David Dalton, Eoghan Jennings, Kevin Mulligan.