Premier Div2 Championship Rd4

Summerhill travelled to Pilltown on Thursday evening to take on St Colmcilles under lights in their final group game in the Premier Div 2 Championship. With a semi final place already guaranteed the prize on offer, as well as preserving their unbeaten record, was a place in the final.
The early exchanges were even enough with each side exchanging points. Summerhill’s first point came from Willie Ryan who was returning after injury. Trailing by 2 points Summerhill in the 15 minute Summerhill scored a goal to take the lead for the first time. A long ball played in by Jack Regan was well gathered by full forward Connie McGrath who laid the ball off Conor Summerville who fired to the net to make the score 1-2 to 0-4. The home side finished the half strongly hitting 3 unanswered points to leave the half time score Summerhill 1-3 St Colmcilles 0-8.

The 2nd half began with the welcome introduction of Paul Larkin who was making his return after a long injury layoff. Scores were very hard to come by in the 2nd half. Ten minutes were gone before the home side scored the first point of the half. This was quickly followed by a second to extend their lead to 4. With defenses on top mixed with some poor shooting  it would be the 24minute of the half before the next score came, a pointed free from Cathal Ryan. An Eamonn Ryan point soon followed to reduce the margin to just 2 points. The home extended the lead again to 3 as the clock hit the 30th minute but almost instantly a Jack Regan point closed the gap again back to 2. With added time almost up St Colmcilles scored a break away goal to seal the win. They added a further point on the whistle to give them a slight flattering 6 point win on a score line of Summerhill 1-6 St Colmcilles 1-12. The Cilles men now quality directly for the final while Summerhill await outcome of the final round of games (Summerhill have a bye) to see who they will face in the semi final.

Team: Sean Mudiman, Kevin Mulligan, Eoghan Jennings, Paddy Troy, Jack Davies, Willie Ryan (0-1), Darragh McVann, Jack Regan (0-1), Eoghan Grehan, Conor Summerville (1-1), Eamonn Ryan (0-1),Conor Ryan, Cathal Ryan (0-2, 2f), Connie McGrath, Cathal Brien.

Subs: Paul Larkin, Donal Matthews, Luke Moran.