Senior Championship Rd1

Summerhill opened their Keegan Cup campaign with a good win in front of a big crowd in Trim on Friday evening against St Peters Dunboyne. The Trim pitch was as usual in fantastic condition and the weather was perfect.

The opening exchanges were tight with both defenses on top. Summerhill registered a few early misses before a Ross Ryan point in the 10th minute finally opened the scoring. Dunboyne were finding it extremely hard to break down the Summerhill defense but hit two points of their own in the 15th and 17th minute to take the lead. Summerhill finally started to make their dominance show on the score board hitting 1-3 without reply in the lead in to half time. The Summerhill goal coming from Kevin Ryan in the 25th minute following good work in the build up by Diarmuid McCabe and Conor Lyons. Summerhill went in at the break leading 1-4 to 0-2, happy enough but knowing they has squandered several other good scoring chances.

Dunboyne opened the second half with 2 quick points within the first minute to close the lead to three points. The second of these points coming from a Donal Lenihan free, somewhat harshly awarded against Summerhill full back Padraig Jennings who was injured in the process and had to be replaced by Jack Bannon. Summerhill were however undaunted by Dunboyne’s early scoring flourish and soon established control again with points coming from David Larkin and Kevin Ryan, who were both having a great game, a Conor Lyons free and Barry Dardis effort from play. In the 15th minute of the half the Barry Dardis struck for a goal that effectively ended the game as a contest. Following great work from Conor Frayne who’s initial shot was well saved by the Dunboyne keeper, Dardis followed up to plant a pin point shot to the net from the tightest of angles to stretch the Summerhill lead to 10 points. Two further points from Dardis as well as a Kevin Ryan effort were cancelled out by three Donal Lenihan free to leave the final score Summerhill 2-11 to St Peter’s Dunboyne’s 0-8. Summerhill will be happy to get their campaign up and run with a win and can look forwards to taking on Ballinabrackey in round 2 in a fortnights time.

Summerhill – Tony McDonnell; Iarla Hughes, Padraig Jennings, Ronan Ryan, Padraig Geraghty (c), Ross Ryan, Adam McDonnell; Michael Byrne, Adam Flanagan; David Larkin, Diarmuid McCabe, Kevin Ryan; Eamonn McDonnell, Conor Lyons, Liam Shaw.
Subs – Jack Bannon for Jennings, Barry Dardis for Eamonn McDonnell, Jamie O’Shea for Lyons, Conor Frayne for Shaw, Caolan Young for Kevin Ryan

Scorers– Barry Dardis 1-3 (0-2 fs); Kevin Ryan 1-3; David Larkin 0-2; Diarmuid McCabe 0-1 (45); Ross Ryan 0-1; Conor Lyons 0-1 (f).