Premier Championship Division 6 Round 7

Summerhill’s third team took on table toppers Ballinlough in the last round of the premier championship in Summerhill on Thursday evening. Due to a loss to Ratoath in the previous round Summerhill could not qualify for the semi final but were hoping to finish the campaign strongly. The first half was a rather techy affair with quality football at a minimum. A Ballinlough goal coming up to the break saw them lead by 1-3 to 0-1, Summerhill’s solitary point coming from Luke Byrne.

The games opened up considerably in the 2nd half with the home side showing much more intent as they slowly ate into the Ballinlough lead. With ten minutes remaining  a Connie McGrath goal brought the sides level for the first time at 1-6 apiece. Summerhill were in full control at this stage and scored four unanswered points, two from Gavin McVann and one each for Darragh McVann and Cathal Ryan to run out winners.
Full time score Summerhill 1-10 Ballinlough 1-6

Team: Stephen Lynch, David Myles, Darren Chapman, Paddy Troy, Conor Summerville, Gary Rispin, Kevin Mulligan, Daragh McVann (0-1), Donal Matthews, Luke Byrne (0-2), Brian Rispin (0-1), Adam Larkin, Ray Comey, Connie McGrath (1-0), Gavin McVann (0-2).

Subs: Cathal Ryan (0-4, 4f) for Adam Larkin; Stephen Husband for Donal Matthews, Euan McGivern for Conor Summerville, Sean Hughes for Ray Comey, Jack Davies for David Myles.