Feis Cup Final

Summerhill captured the Feis Cup for the first time in thirteen years (2006), beating Gaeil Colmcilles in a hard fought but entertaining game played in Ashbourne on Sunday (3rd Nov). In a final befitting of this most prestigious competition,both teams slogged it out with Summerhill showing great resolve to come out on top by three points on a scoreline of 2.12 to 1.12.

This game had many twists and turns with Summerhill getting two goals (Barry Dardis & Sean Dalton) in quick succession to put six points between them, but despite having a man sent off Kells fought back leaving three points in it at the break  2.3 to 0.6.

On the resumption Summerhill tagged on three points to go six up again, but a penalty awarded to Kells ten minutes into the second half gave the Kells men a lifeline, and by the 47th minute they were ahead by a point. The ‘hill dug deep and scored two points to regain the lead once again, but Kells again cancelled out that lead to go a point ahead with less than ten to go. However wiley campaigners Tony McDonnell, Willie Ryan, Michel Byrne and David  Larkin stepped  up to the mark and saw out victory for the ‘hill, a victory that will take the sting out of the tail of loosing the county final a week previous and finish the year with some silverware.

Half Time: Summerhill 2.3.   Gaeil Colmcill 0.6
Full Time : Summerhill 2.12.  Gaeil Colmcille 1.12

Team: 1.Tony McDonnell, 2. Padraig Jennings, 3. Ronan Ryan, 4. John Lavelle, 5. Padhraig Geraghty(0.1), 6. Ross Ryan, 7.John  Keane, 8. Diarmuid McCabe, 9. David Dalton, 10. David Larkin(0.3), 11. Paul Larkin, 12. Michael Byrne, 13. Liam Shaw, 14. Barry Dardis(1.4 3f) 15. Sean Dalton (1-2)

Subs: Willie Ryan (0.1) for Padraig Jennings, Conor Frayne (0.1) for Liam Shaw, Stephen Husband for John Lavelle Conor Lyons for Sean Dalton

Ref Andrew Smith.   Dunshaughlin

(Click on Image to Enlarge)