U15 Division 2 Final

Summerhill capped off a fine season for our underage teams when claiming the O’Reilly & Co. Solicitors U15 Division 2 title on Sunday morning in Dunganny. They defeated a Seneschalstown team that had beaten them last year at U14 level on a score line of 5-17 to 1-5.

It was a tight and tense first half with Summerhill playing into a strong breeze. However a goal from full forward Luke Byrne who cleverly flicked the ball past the out rushing Seneschalstown keeper finally put some daylight between the team as half time approached and left the Summerhill lads  leading by 1-9 to 0-5 at the break.

On the resumption, Summerhill with the wind advantage applied a lot of pressure to the Seneschalstown defence but some good defending and several wides prevented Summerhill from adding to their total in the first 10mins of the half. Indeed Summerhill’s goalkeeper Pearse Summerville pulled off a fine save to deny Seneschalstown on a rare break forward.

This save was to be the wake up call the Summerhill lads needed as they upped their game considerably. Lead by some great scores from Eoghan Frayne and Adam McDonnell the team played some great football and eventually ran out comfortable winners on a score line of 5-17 to 1-5.

After the game Meath Coiste na nÓg secretary Brian Kelly presented the trophy to the winning captains Eoghan Frayne. Eoghan was picking up this particular trophy for the second time, as he was also captain last year when it was  won by Summerhill.

In his speech Eoghan thanked the mentors, Cha Gaffney, Adrian Byrne, Stephen McDonnell and Tom McVann as well as all the parents who travel the length and breadth of the county bringing the players to matches.

On the teams return to Summerhill the team called out to Nangle’s shop in Agher. Vincent and Anne were closing their doors for the final time after a lifetime of service to the local community. Vincent is Club President this year and has been a great supporter of the club over the years.


Pearse Summerville, Mark Flatherty, Eoghan Grehan, Liam O’Neill, Henrique Magno, Ben Moran, David Moore, Adam McDonnell, Conor Crowell, Patrick Healy, Eoghan Frayne, Darragh McVann, James Gray, Luke Byrne, Evan Gaffney.


Darragh Loughrey, Killian Clarke, Daniel Eichler, Tom Ryan, Oisin Hussey.


Half time Summerhill 1-09 Seneschalstown 0-05

Full time Summerhill 5-17 Seneschalstown 1-05