Senior Championship Rd 5

Author: Aisling Dwyer
It was a must win game for both sides in Clonard this afternoon between Summerhill and Na Fianna ,in order to advance to the quarter final stages of the Fairyhouse steel senior football championship.
Barry Dardis was first on the scoresheet within the first minute with an excellent free . This set the tone for the rest of the afternoon for Barry,as he scored 10 of Summerhill’s
16 points – 3 from play and 7 sublime Frees.
Na Fianna did take the early lead in the first 10 minutes scoring four points to Summerhill s 2 however a well worked move from David Larkin and Kevin Ryan , resulting in Ryan finding the back of the net ,brought Summerhill back into the game . (1-3 to 0-4) Na Fianna replies with 2 scores from Owen McDonnell and Shane Walsh in this half .The loss of Oran Smullen to a Black card was a further headache to manager Sean O’Dea..However Barry Dardis continued to pester their defence and took his scores along with points from David Larkin and Seany Dalton ..had the Summerhill side ahead 1-8 to 0-6 points at halftime .
A penalty on the first attack of the re-start was converted by Captain Willie Ryan . Summerhill pushed on from this and punished Na Fianna . Micheàl Byrne had an excellent game in midfield and kept feeding the Hill Forwards with plenty of possession ..
A second penalty was awarded midway through the first half , after a foul on Kevin Ryan .Again Willie Ryan stood up and delivered for Summerhill. Score 3-11 to 0-7 points .
John Lyons men outscored Na Fianna by 9 scores to 2 in the Second half .. And they took firm control of this game with one eye on their Quarter Final Spot in a fortnights Time. Although Na Fianna did score a consolation goal in the dying minutes of the game it was too little too late for the Enfield side .John Lyons men’s had emphatically booked their quarter final spot in their hunt for The Keegan Cup .

Full Time Score: Summerhill 3-16 , Na Fianna 1-8

Foireann ;
T.McDonnell ,I.Hughes,C.Young,J.Lavelle,P.Geraghty,W.Ryan(2p-0)S.Husband,M. Byrne,J.Keane,K.Ryan(1-0),D.Larkin(0-2)L.Shaw,S.Dalton(0-2),B.Dardis(0-10)D.Dalton(0-1) Subs:C.Devlin(0-1) for L.Shaw,R.Ryan (0-1)for S.Husband ,D.McCabe for J.Keane,P.Larkin for D.Dalton .D.Feeley for D.Larkin.